Upgrading via Berryboot without losing roms/config

Welcome Page Forums RetroPie Project New to RetroPie? Start Here! Upgrading via Berryboot without losing roms/config

This topic contains 1 reply, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of samjaynes samjaynes 1 year, 3 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #121998
    Profile photo of samjaynes
    samjaynes
    Participant

    I believe I am running 3.0 or 3.1 via Berryboot, and noticed that 3.6 is available as a OS to be loaded. How does one upgrade to 3.6 or any other new version without losing their ROMS, controller configurations, and custom game configs?

    EDIT* – Let me elaborate a little more – Does adding RetroPie 3.6 as an OS overwrite your existing install, or simply add another version of RetroPie to the available OS to boot?

    Next, can you simply update RetroPie via SSH or RetroPie Config (take my 3.1 install and move it to 3.6)? If that is the case, I assume that from a cosemetic perspective, all I would need to do is edit the name in the berryboot menu to reflect what version is underneath.

    Thanks in advance – great work on this project!

    #122121
    Profile photo of samjaynes
    samjaynes
    Participant

    I have added the 3.6 version to berryboot. Is there a simple way of transferring over all my roms and configs?

    Also, what about transferring over all scraped metadata and images?

    Thanks

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

Forums are currently read only - please visit the new RetroPie forums at https://retropie.org.uk/forums/

Skip to toolbar