Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m using an 8 GB Sandisk SDHC card, and I’m trying to write the RetroPie iso image to it using Win32 Disk Imager. The problem is that it only writes the first partition on the iso file. The size of the sd card after writing is about 50 mb.

Very few people seem to have this problem, and I haven’t found any solutions for it yet. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Anonymous
    Inactive

I am a noob, but maybe this will help you:

In windows, it only displays the fat32 partition (boot) of your sd card. All the retropie goodies are on a linux partition which doesn’t show up in windows. If Win32 disk imager actually did write the image correctly, just put the sd card in your raspi and turn it on.

If it boots into emulationstation, it worked.

seanmalter
    Participant

So I too have been having this problem,

Im using windows and trying to get more space for my roms on the SD card but 50 mb isn’t even enough for some of the snes games I want to put on there.

Any ideas?

RetroMarine
    Participant

Expand your filesystem on sd card by going to sudo raspi-config

Sent from my C5155 using Tapatalk

RetroMarine
    Participant

They say to have an 8gb sd card for the roms, but the retropie image takes up damn near 4gb, so I would recommend a 16gb or higher if you want to put a lot of roms on. PSX roms are huge too, so for me, I use a 128gb sd and my retropie has just about every rom for every system under the sun.

Sent from my C5155 using Tapatalk

Anonymous
    Inactive

In my opinion, putting your roms on the sd card is not the way to go. Ever since I switched to putting only retropie on the sd card and all the roms on a usb flash drive, I haven’t had any problems with the card corrupting. whereas, with the roms on the card, it would corrupt at least once a week. (usually when a rom doesn’t exit properly and I’m forced to pull the power, but sometimes for no reason)