Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello everyone! I’m new to the RetroPie project. I obtained a Pi Model B Rev 2.0 earlier this week and have been playing around with this project with the 1.10.0 distro. I think it’s an awesome idea and can’t wait to get it all working. However, I’m stumbling into a problem that I think I might know the answer to. Just posting it here to confirm. I can get the Pi to bootup, load roms, configure a wired Xbox 360 controller and everything seems fine. When I launch a game in any emulator, the power seems to die on the USB bus. A wireless keyboard and mouse stop responding to the point where I can’t even turn the numlock/capslock/scroll lock lights on and the light goes out on the xbox 360 wired controller. I have a feeling that this might be a power issue. When I bought the Pi, it only came with a 600maH power supply. Could this be the problem? My next step is to try to pick up a new 1500maH power supply to see if it resolves the issue and even possibly pick up a certified powered USB hub. Thoughts?

kitchuk
    Participant

I’m about 99% sure it’s going to me the power supply. The pi isn’t getting enough juice for the extra peripherals. I’m running 1ghz with a usb snes pad and keyboard and everything is fine with a 1000mh unit.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Anonymous
    Inactive

Yeah sounds like power issue
    This is taken from the official site

Model B owners using networking and high-current USB peripherals will require a supply which can source 700mA (many phone chargers meet this requirement). Model A owners with powered USB devices will be able to get away with a much lower current capacity (300mA feels like a reasonable safety margin).

I have a 1500ma psu and got a wired xbox controller, keyboard and ethernet plugged in and no issues.

RawToxic
    Participant