Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Trying to get N64 to run on my Pi2

It seems to run at a OK speed (maybe a bit slow)

But with Super Smash I see lots of the characters for some reason have no face details like now eyes, mouth etc.

I see on youtube many people have the N64 working great, I can’t seem to get it run as well.

Any tips?

I have overclocked to 1GHz but thats it.

retropi2
    Participant

Hi, I am new to this and have just setup up my new rpi2 and I am having the same problems. Also the menus in most games the graphics are all corrupted, someone else posted the same problem with screen caps but i cannot find the post.
    I have tried changing to different screen options but no good.
    Im in Australia so not sure if its a PAL/NTSC thing or whats going on, I can actually play mario cart and super smash bros almost ok, snowboard game same thing on the menus, resident evil crashes out but you can just about make out the language selection page.
    Thanks for this great little project.

zersus
    Participant
    raymate
    Participant

Update,

As a reference I found a N64 emulator for my Mac and I used the sam ROMs i’m using on the Pi and they play fine so I know its the emulator on the Pi.

I have over clocked the Pi and I can say that it’s not running them at full speed, the emulator on my Mac shows 30 fps constant and side by side I would say the Pi is in places going down to about 15-20 fps.

I guess it’s early days still for the Pi2 and code needs to be optimised for the extra cores.

retropi2
    Participant

I’ve been trying the two different plugins, rice and n64 by editing /opt/retropie/configs/n64
    VideoPlugin = “mupen64plus-video-n64”
    #VideoPlugin = “mupen64plus-video-rice”

rice seems to be good for some but not when ssbros has multiple enemies it grinds to a halt.