Tagged: , ,

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi, I wish I didn’t have to make this thread, but I’m at my wit’s end here. Each time I attempt to start any MAME game, the system will spit out a few lines of code;

performance
    Powering on HDMI with explicit settings (CEA mode 4)
    Powering on HDMI with preferred settings
    ondemand

then go straight back to EmulationStation.

I’ve sifted through plenty of threads, but to no avail. Could anyone tell me what I need to do to fix this? I’m not a complete noob, but I’m close to it.

Floob

Are you using romset 0.37b5?
    Also, do you have neogeo.zip file there for the neo roms?

zenos875
    Participant

How would I check to see what romset I’m using?

And just to be safe, could you let me know where to put the files?

Floob

I dont think there is an easy way to check which romset you have unless there is a readme file with the set or in the archive filename somewhere.

Its probably easier just to download the right romset – google should help out. Its against the rules here to link to roms.

The those zips from the romset simply go in the /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame directory. You may need a neogeo.zip file in the bios directory if you want to play neo geo games in there.

zenos875
    Participant

No luck with the BIOS, unfortunately.

I went to Mamedev (hope that doesn’t count as linking to roms) to find the BIOS and put the whole .zip into the /mame/ folder. I can see it in EmulationStation along with the other roms. I feel like I’m missing something here. I haven’t done anything with the Geo at all. Was I supposed to put anything into /pi/BIOS/, or anywhere in /mame4all-pi/?

I’m trying to test with Pac-Man and Metal Slug 6 if that would affect anything.

Floob

I’m assuming you are using RetroPie 2.3 ?
    All your MAME roms (should be about 2,000 zip files) in zip format should be stored here:
    /home/pi/RetroPie/roms/mame