Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Good evening everyone :)

I’m rather new in the whole Pi-Scene so bare with me as I try to explain my problem.

1. At the moment I have my laptop connected to Wifi as the router is in the basement. I wanted to connect my Pi to my laptop to be able to get into my files to delete a mass of ROMS and start fresh. So I connected my Pi with an ethernet cable to my laptop and checked my ip on my Pi. However when I try to login with the IP-adres I got from the Pi on Putty I can’t seem to login. The connection times out and I’m stuck. Is there anything more that I should do except for connecting the Pi with an ethernet cable?

2. A second problem I have is that I got a few ISO files (PSX and Dreamcast) games and for some reason the games don’t show up on emulator station. However it should support .iso extensions.

3. Last but not least, if I wanted to start completely fresh with 0 games installed, is there a way I can do this?

I’m sorry for any mistakes of typo’s I made writing this, English isn’t my mother tongue so there’s that.

Kind Regards

Lrnz

dankcushions
    Participant

1) you need to connect your laptop and pi to the same router (in my case i connect them both to my cable modem/router combo unit – laptop via wireless/pi via cable), not directly via an ethernet cable. you CAN do it that way but i think you need a special ethernet cable (‘crossover’). probably easiest to just bring your pi down to the basement :)

2) dreamcast does not support .iso – see https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-setup/wiki/Dreamcast
    playstation DOES support .iso apparently – https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/playstation-1 (not sure why it’s not working for you – is it lower case .iso?)

3) install the latest retropie SD card image, i suppose? or manually go through each rom directory and delete all the roms via ftp or command line.

ps – your english seems great :)

lrnz
    Participant