Gameboy Advance Emulator

This topic contains 10 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of domnewell1 domnewell1 3 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of domnewell1
    domnewell1
    Participant

Hi,

Every time I update the retropie script to allow retroarch autoconfig, my gameboy advance emulator and roms stop working. They were fine before. Does anyone have any ideas as to how I could solve this?

Profile photo of trimmtrabb
    trimmtrabb
    Participant

I’m not sure why that is happening, the GBA emulator isn’t configured via Retroarch. Try backing up your es_systems.cfg and gpsp.cfg before running the auto config and then restore afterwards

If you have found the solution to your problem please mark the topic as resolved.

domnewell1
    Participant

How do I do this, just copy to my computer, run auto config and then copy it back across?
    Sorry, complete newbie

Thanks for the reply

trimmtrabb
    Participant

yes copy them off with a ftp client, I use Filezilla. When you say stop working, you can’t run the emulator at all?

If you have found the solution to your problem please mark the topic as resolved.

domnewell1
    Participant

When I click the rom, it starts running code, but after a few seconds it blacks out and returns to the rom menu

I use cyberduck at the moment, so I will give it a try

trimmtrabb
    Participant

if you press f4 after attempting to run the emulator what errors do you see?

domnewell1
    Participant

Before I copied the old gpsp file over I got

“/home/pi/RetroPie/emulators/gpsp/raspberrypi/gpsp: No such file of directory”

But now that I have copied over the version of the emulator when it worked, I get

“/home/pi/RetroPie/emulators/gpsp/raspberrypi/gpsp: Permission denied”

That’s the only part that causes error

trimmtrabb
    Participant

try reinstalling GPSP via the setup script, it’s in ‘source based installation’

domnewell1