Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant

[attachment file=”image.jpg”]

[attachment file=”image.jpg”]

This is my first build I started last month, the plans are from instructables.
    I designed the template for the graphics in Photoshop and had them printed by RockStarPrint.
    Still a bit to go on it, marquee, t-moulding and speakers built into the top.

shoothere
    Participant

WOW! Looking awesomesauce!

I am most curious how you will be handling the display/sound output.

Keep us updated and you’ve got something that makes many of us jealous! :P

stephen
    Participant

Thanks,

The monitor I’m using doesn’t have built in speakers so I’ll be using a small subwoofer and two 4 inch speakers built into the marquee facing up.
    The subwoofer is just a 12v power with audio jack that plugs straight into the raspberry pi.
    Video output is a Hdmi to dvi cable.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Very nice. I think I know the instructable you’re following. Is his console titled Galactic Starcade? I’m using that one as my inspiration. I just purchased my monitor, joysticks, and buttons.

stephen
    Participant

Yes that’s the instructable I followed, if you have any questions regarding the build let me know as some of that guide is not very clear.

I can give you the photoshop template I made for making the artwork also.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Mine will probably be a bit larger. I was able to get a real good Craigslist deal on a 20.5 inch monitor. I’m also going to have 8 buttons per player instead of 6. I purchased snap-in buttons as well, so I’m going to have to re-engineer the front panel to account for that now. I will be doing something similar with the speakers as well, but I was planning to use a much smaller amplifier. Probably in the neighborhood of 8W or so.

stephen
    Participant