Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I know it’s possible to override the button mapping using the individual emulators’ config files, but is it possible to use a different controller entirely?

So far, it seems like running retroarch-joyconfig binds the system to a specific controller. Is it possible to set it up so, for example, I could use a playstation controller with PSX and an SNES controller with everything else?

Thanks for the help!

teeth03
    Participant

each controller should have an index you can switch in the configuration, I’m not an expert, but you might have to have all the controllers plugged in at the same time for it to work.

jplaj
    Participant

Hi, thanks for the help. I finally got all the equipment I needed to test this. Here’s what happened.

All equipment I’m using has been confirmed to work individually.

One powered hub.
    Two retro-link USB SNES controllers (I’ve been using these ones for months)
    Two PS2 to USB adapters
    Two PS2 Sony-brand controllers.

I ran the es input configuration with all four controllers running through the hub. The two SNES controllers were used for players one and two. The PS2 controllers were for players three and four. I’m assuming that means they’re indext 0, 1, 2, 3 respectively.

Ran joyconfig once with the SNES controller, once with the PS2 controller. Neither one would work through the hub, so they were plugged in directly to the Raspberry Pi when I did that.

I wrote down the outputs, then manually entered them in retroarch.cfg, with the SNES inputs for players one (index 0) and two (index 1) and the PS2 inputs for players three and four (2 and 3).

I altered the retroarch.cfg file in the PSX folder to read:

input_player1_joypad_index = 2
    input_player2_joypad_index = 3
    input_player3_joypad_index = 0
    input_player4_joypad_index = 1

Here are my results: