Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Okay, so I decided to look into this retropie thing because it seemed like the bitchinest thing around, and admittedly, it’s pretty bitchin. The thing is though, my absolute favorite system is the N64, and while it does support N64, it won’t run the games.
    So, question #1: Will it run any N64 games at all?
    Question #1.1: Which, if any have you been successful with?
    Question #1.2: Is there any way I can make it work better with the N64?
    Question #2: Can you put thumbnails and descriptions on the games, like what Doom and Duke Nukem have?
    Question #2.1: How?
    Question #3: What controllers are you using? I’ve got an N64 controller with a USB adapter, but since that isn’t 100%, I’d like input on what works best.

So there’s my first bit of questions. Keep in mind, I’m pretty much a complete beginner, so go easy on me. Thanks for any help!

RetroMarine
    Participant

Many of us share the same frustrations…no, the N64 emulator sucks. I have Mario 64 and Mariokart running at a barely playable level. There’s lots of things to tweak within mupen64plus.cfg, but if you change something, it might fix one game and jack up another. You’re better off using project64 on your PC for an N64 emulator.

ottbry420
    Participant

What is this “mupen64plus.cfg” that you speak of? Admittedly, I’d call it a victory if I got one N64 game to play well, or even at all.

trimmtrabb
    Participant

Not worth messing about with N64 on the Pi, it’s very frustrating! Playstation emulation can run fairly decently though :-)

proxycell
    Participant

@trimmtrabb
    which PS1 games have you gotten playable?

@ottbry420

1 – yes but just barely for only a few games that I have noticed