Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hey there!!!

When i saw your project, i directly buy a raspberry pi 2 !
    Especially for mario kart on nintendo 64 !

I follow the installation correctly, did the apt-get update and upgrade, system starts quick, added the mariokart.zip to the n64 folder in roms via windows, it is recognized, but, the sounds is crackle and the video is very ugly, i can’t see anything correctly…

So i have seek trough the net to see if any configuration has to be done.
    I tried to overclock to the higher one, the Pi 2. No changes for sound and video, but it is much faster ^^

i am a beginner in the terminal, i know a few commands, like apt-get, reboot, halt, measure temp…

Did i missed something???

Your answer will be much appreciated !

My configuration:
    Raspberry pi 2
    Aukru 2A adaptater
    Samsung Evo class10 uhs1 16giga µSdcard
    Samsung LCD 22′ linked to the pi with a hdmi/dvi cable ( i also tried on a 40’inch thomson on hdmi/hdmi, same result)
    one design white case
    Sony headphones jack 3.5mm
    USB logitech G15 keyboard
    USB dell generic mouse
    Microsoft sidewinder gamepad
    Playstation 3 controller

cortex
    Participant

Hi there,

try to update your mupen64plus Emulator, because gizmo updated the configs for mariokart64 to work properly by default (like always, consider to backup your system before making changes):

sudo ./home/pi/RetroPie-Setup/retropie_setup.sh

and then update the script.
    restart it after the update was succesfull and choose
    “source-based Installation”
    and tick only the mupen64plus Emulator.

This will reset your /opt/retropie/configs/n64/mupen64plus.cfg , so remember to set your hotkey to Exit the Emulator again.

You might also consider to unzip your roms; I think i read something about this making the Emulation slower.